Blogging and a realization!

I’ve been blogging since I first got access to the internet in the late 90s.  From creating my own website in 8th grade to Xanga to Livejournal.  I’ve been all over the internet.  I really like the feeling that I get when I make my life public, I don’t know why — a lot of people scorn me for this, I’ve gotten in a ton of trouble for it, and I lose any sense of having a “private life.”  Most of these people who tell me, “STOP BLOGGING!” seem to be like they’re very comfortable with keeping their lives quiet and on top of it, they’re very simple people who might not be interested in making new “online friends” or whatever.  I could analyze and analyze, but I have finally come to a conclusion.

Life is too short.  And I am starting to not care about what others think of me.  If you don’t like me for who I am, so what?  There’s a few billion people in this world.  “Oh Stacy, you’re Googleable!  You should make sure you’re NOT for -gasp- employers!”  Um.  Excuse me?  I’m Googleable so that means I should be hired.  I’m doing a lot and it’s being recorded via the internet.  So what?  And my philosophy from now on is if someone doesn’t hire me because I am Googleable, I don’t want to work at that job — being close minded is my biggest pet peeve and would make for a horrible work environment anyway.  Trust me, I know this from experience.

I am letting this all out because when I’ve been blogging, I’ve left behind all my personality and attempted to write about facts, news, and all that dry stuff that is already public.  I feel like I would be a much more influential blogger if people got to know me for me, not me for regurgitating facts.

So.  This is me.  This is what I do.  Read and enjoy.  Blog posts from now on should be way more interesting!  My mind, my life, my world.  If you don’t like it, don’t read it!

Leave a Reply

