“I made a promise, Mr. Frodo. A promise!”

“I will promise you this, that if we have not gotten our troops out by the time I am president, it is the first thing I will do. I will get our troops home. We will bring an end to this war. You can take that to the bank. ”

Barack Obama

At least Sam kept his promise to Frodo. And yes, I had to bring Lord of the Rings into this.

This is very similar to a sign that I held at the End the Fed march — it said, “Throw the ring into Mount Doom already!” and had a picture of the ring with money symbols and the word “power” written around it.  (On the other side of the poster, I made a Matrix reference reading, “Take the red pill!”  I love movie analogies.)

Leave a Reply

